Thursday, March 20, 2008

Women the Senate

Thirty-five women have served in the U.S. Senate (ahem, over a span of 220 years!). The first woman was elected in 1931. The first woman, period, was Rebecca Felton, who served for twenty-four hours upon the death of another member.

Here's the list, where you can link to biographical information.

Hattie Wyatt Caraway (D-Arkansas), 1931-1945

Rose McConnell Long (D-Louisiana), 1936-1937

Dixie Bibb Graves (D-Alabama), 1937-1938

Gladys Pyle (R-South Dakota), 1938-1939

Vera Cahalan Bushfield (R-South Dakota), 1948

Margaret Chase Smith (R-Maine), 1949-1973

Eva Kelley Bowring (R-Nebraska), 1954

Hazel Hempel Abel (R-Nebraska), 1954

Maurine Brown Neuberger (D-Oregon), 1960-1967

Elaine S. Edwards (D-Louisiana), 1972

Muriel Humphrey (D-Minnesota), 1978

Maryon Allen (D-Alabama), 1978

Nancy Landon Kassebaum (R-Kansas), 1978-1997

Paula Hawkins (R-Florida), 1981-1987

Barbara Mikulski (D-Maryland), 1987-

Jocelyn Burdick (D-North Dakota), 1992

Dianne Feinstein (D-California), 1992-

Barbara Boxer (D-California), 1993-

Carol Moseley Braun (D-Illinois), 1993-1999

Patty Murray (D-Washington), 1993-

Kay Bailey Hutchison (R-Texas), 1993-

Olympia Jean Snowe (R-Maine), 1995-

Sheila Frahm (R-Kansas), 1996

Mary Landrieu (D-Louisiana), 1997-

Susan Collins (R-Maine), 1997-

Blanche Lincoln (D-Arkansas), 1999-

Hillary Rodham Clinton (D-New York), 2001-

Deborah Stabenow (D-Michigan), 2001-

Maria E. Cantwell (D-Washington), 2001-

Jean Carnahan (D-Missouri), 2001- 2002

Lisa Murkowski (R-Alaska), 2002-

Elizabeth Dole (R-North Carolina), 2003-

Claire McCaskill (D-Missouri), 2007-

Amy Klobuchar (D-Minnesota), 2007-

And here is the rest of it.

1 comment:

Trouble said...

That's a pretty impressive list, especially considering how far back the dates go. Women have to work extra hard to get where they want to be in life, and even harder when they get there. I just regret not doing what I should have done years ago, but I guess it's never too late to learn.